As previously reported, BT has announced a new download store which allows its YouView customers to purchase films and keep them “indefinitely” to watch and enjoy as many times as they like.
In addition to watching on your YouView box, the ISP has now confirmed plans to offer buyers a “digital electronic version” of their purchases “to watch on other devices other than your BT TV set top box”
Which sounds to us very much like a BT TV app for your iPad, iPhone and Android device.
The firm has also answered a number of important questions which any savvy film fan should ask before building up a library of digital content, including addressing the important issue of what happens if you cancel your BT TV account.
Here’s the highlights:
When will I get a digital electronic copy of my films?
We’re not able to offer you access to a digital download or streamed version of the films you’ve bought just yet. Once we’re ready, we’ll contact you to advise you how to access your digital copy. We aim to provide this within 12 months of your first purchase.
How many devices will I be able to download my digital electronic copy on?
You’ll need to register any devices that you want to use to download or stream your digital copy to. You’ll be able to register up to a maximum of 5 devices at any one time (excluding your BT provided set top box).
How many streams or downloads of the films can I run at the same time?
You can run 2 downloads or streams of your bought films at the same time (excluding your BT provided set top box) and these can only be watched within the United Kingdom.
What happens if I leave BT TV?
You won’t be able to watch the films any more on your BT TV set top box as you need to have an active account with us. Instead we’ll send you a DVD version (not Blu-ray) of any films you have purchased. They should be with you within three weeks of when you closed your BT TV account.
We can only send DVDs to the billing address we have on file for you at the time you closed your BT TV account and this must be a UK or EU address only.
What happens to my purchases if I get a new set top box
Don’t worry, we’ll make sure that any films you have purchased will get transferred to your new box. Once you’ve connected your new box, they will appear automatically in the ‘Purchases’ section of the BT TV menu within 72 hours.
Based on the information released, this seems to be a pretty good deal for customers – once the digital copy service is available, content will be accessible outside your set top box and you’ll be able to easily let members of the household watch on their own device.
BT’s promise to ship you a DVD copy if you leave means you don’t need to worry about being trapped into paying a subscription, but you might want to think twice about paying for a HD copy of any films as you won’t get a Blu-ray disc if you leave.